SCRHA Legislative Action Alert

Legislative Updates,

SB 567 (Durazo) will change the landmark law, AB 1482, which only went into effect in 2020, just as the pandemic hit. The Tenant Protection Act has never had a real opportunity to work outside of COVID. Tenant advocates are using COVID as a means to implement stricter rent control and to change Just Cause protections that didn’t go far enough for them in the first place. 

Please call Senate Judiciary Committee members and ask them to vote NO on SB 567. This is not fair or balanced and won’t solve the state’s housing crisis. If you can’t get through to their Sacramento office, call the district office. Both numbers are provided below. 

Here is some of what you can expect if the bill passes:

  • Lower rent cap at CPI or 5%, whichever is less and retroactive to rent increases March 1, 2023, or later.
  • No more exemptions for Single-Family Homes and Condos. For rent caps and Just Cause!
  • Just Cause protections would kick in at day one of tenancy. Say goodbye to getting to know your residents in year one.
  • To occupy your own home, an owner or family would have to move in within 90 days of terminating tenancy and would have to live there for 3 years.
    • If violated, the owner has to offer the unit to the tenant who vacated at the same rent and lease terms and reimburse the tenant for moving costs in excess of relocation assistance.
  • Alter the definition of an owner to mean a natural person that has at least a 51-percent recorded ownership interest in the property.
  • Properties withdrawn from the rental market must be off the market for 10 years or face penalties.
  • Change the definition of substantial remodel and allow the previous tenant to return at the same rental rate once work is complete.

Senator Thomas J. Umberg (Chair)
Capitol: (916) 651-4034 
District: (714) 558-3785                               

Senator Scott Wilk (Vice Chair)
Capitol: (916) 651-4021District: (661) 729-6232

Senator Benjamin Allen
Capitol: (916) 651-4024
District: (310) 318-6994

Senator Angelique V. Ashby
Capitol: (916) 651-4008
District: (916) 651-1529

Senator Anna M. Caballero
Capitol: (916) 651-4014
District: (559) 264-3070                              

Senator María Elena Durazo
Capitol: (916) 651-4026
District: (213) 483-9300

Senator John Laird
Capitol: (916) 651-4017
District: (805) 549-3784                                                

Senator Dave Min
Capitol: (916) 651-4037
District: (949) 223-5472

Senator Roger W. Niello
Capitol: (916) 651-4006
District: (916) 772-0589                                                  

Senator Henry I. Stern
Capitol: (916) 651-4027
District: (818) 876-3352

Senator Scott D. Wiener
Capitol: (916) 651-4011
District: (415) 557-1300